Employee Benefits Awards 2012: Meet the Judges

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesPanel chair
Debi O’Donovan is editor of Employee Benefits and is responsible for editorial strategy across events, web and the magazine.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesPanel chair
Debbie Lovewell,
deputy editor of Employee Benefits, is an award-winning journalist who is responsible for news and features across the magazine and website.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesPanel chair
Dev Raval is director of reward at BSkyB. He has worked on major initiatives to support Sky’s use of reward to align its people to the company’s strategy and to improve engagement and performance.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesMark Bradshaw is director of reward and recognition for Tata Steel Europe. He has extensive experience in employee benefits. In 2011 his former team at Amey won ‘Employee benefits team of the year’ at the Employee Benefits Awards.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesNik Butcher, reward manager at RS Components, has considerable experience, from strategy and policy design through to creation, implementation and communications. He previously worked at
Ceva Logistics.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesJohn Chilman is group reward and pensions director at FirstGroup. He is a trustee of the Railways Pension Scheme and chairs its investment committee. He was the 2011 winner of ‘Employee benefits professional of the year’.

Winners 2012 - Meet the Judges Andrew Clark is head of reward at the John Lewis Partnership. He is responsible for developing the group’s reward strategy, including compensation, benefits, job evaluation and performance management.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesChris Coyne is group head of reward and human resources at City and Guilds, which he joined in 2008 from DTZ. At City and Guilds, he has a remit to develop a reward philosophy and strategy to support a period of organisational development.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesRicky D’Ash is head of compensation and benefits at Equity Insurance Group (part of IAG), where he has worked for two and a half years. Previously, he worked in the high-tech industry as global rewards consultant, UKMEA, for Unisys.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesAnt Donaldson is senior specialist – employee benefits at E.On. In 2011, he led the E.On team that was awarded the Employee Benefits Awards Grand Prix for its work around financial education.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesIan Hodson is reward and benefits manager at the University of Lincoln. His background encompasses both the public and private sector, having previously worked for Moy Park, Egg and Lincolnshire County Council.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesSusan Hughes is policy manager, pensions and benefits at BP. She has more than 20 years’ experience in the pensions industry and is currently responsible for UK policy relating to pension and benefits provision at BP.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesRosemary Lemon is group head of reward and executive remuneration at Legal and General. She has more than 25 years’ experience working in business and HR, particularly with respect to remuneration and benefits.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesZara Loughrey is UK head of HR at Pall Europe and has more than 18 years’ experience in HR and reward. She previously worked at Eli Lilly, NATS and VT Group, among other companies.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesTim Middleton, technical consultant at the Pensions Management Institute (PMI), has worked in the pensions industry since 1987. He is a fellow of the PMI and is a past chairman of the PMI’s London Group.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesJeremy Mindell is senior reward and tax manager at Henderson Global Investors. He has worked in international employment taxation and remuneration for more than 20 years.


Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesHarsha Modha is director, UK benefits at GlaxoSmithKline (GSK). She has more than 21 years’ experience at GSK, where she is responsible for a variety of UK benefits programmes and has led critical team projects and initiatives.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesJulie Osman, director of pensions and benefits at Eli Lilly, spent 10 years in financial management roles before moving to HR in 2001 to take up her current post at Eli Lilly.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesSarah Perkins is UK healthy living manager at American Express. Her role involves managing initiatives to improve the health and wellbeing of the firm’s UK employees and engaging stakeholders to ensure this is rolled out effectively.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesPeter Reilly is director of research and consultancy at the Institute for Employment Studies (IES). He joined IES in 1995 after a 16-year career with Shell, where he held various HR posts in the UK and abroad, including generalist and specialist roles.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesJane Richards is reward technical partner, wealth at Coutts, part of the Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS). She oversees all aspects of reward proposition to the bank’s 5,000 staff globally, with particular focus on compensation, executive pay and governance.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesSeth Russell is director of reward at Three UK. He started his career as a HR generalist in the civil service and the NHS. His first reward role was with British Gas in 1989 and he has since worked in reward and benefits roles across several sectors.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesEleanor Smith is rewards and mobility manager at Linklaters. She has spent 22 years as an HR professional. Before joining Linklaters, she was associate director, rewards at Covance, where she led the global mobility team and rewards team.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesJanine Sparks is reward manager at British Airways and has more than 25 years’ experience in reward. She joined BA in 2009 to take responsibility for employee benefits. She was previously head of reward at LloydsTSB Asset Finance.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesMaria Strid is head of performance and reward at HSBC UK. Previously, she was head of reward and international mobility at Santander UK, where she was responsible for redesigning the bank’s reward strategy following multiple business acquisitions.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesTim Taylor is group head of reward for Tui Travel UK and Ireland. He covers all areas of reward for 15,000 employees, manages the pension team and is also responsible for HR systems and management information.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesKaren Thomson is a member of the Nest Employer Panel and associate director of policy, research and strategic visibility at the Chartered Institute of Payroll Professionals (CIPP). She has over 20 years’ experience in HR, pensions and payroll.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesMartin Todd is head of reward and policy at Grant Thornton UK, where he advises on all aspects of total reward and reward policy.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesSara Turner is UK head of benefits and wellbeing at KPMG. Her specialist areas are employee benefits, recognition and employee wellbeing. She has been with KPMG since 1998.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesCarolyn Wilkinson is benefits leader for PricewaterhouseCoopers (PWC) in the UK. She is responsible for delivery of the benefits strategy, which recognises the diverse needs of PWC’s people and supports its business strategy.

Winners 2012 - Meet the JudgesRichard Wilson is senior policy adviser at the National Association of Pension Funds, focusing on public sector pensions and the 2012 reforms. He has also worked on pension issues for the Association of British Insurers and Help the Aged.

Sign up to our newsletters

Receive news and guidance on a range of HR issues direct to your inbox

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Read more about the Employee Benefits Awards 2012