DWP appoints new chair to The Pensions Regulator

The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) has appointed Michael O’Higgins chair of The Pensions Regulator.

He will take up his post from 1 January 2011 for a three-year term.

David Norgrove, the current chair, will leave the regulator on 31 December 2010 when his second term in the post comes to an end.

In addition, a recruitment exercise is underway to select the regulator’s new chief executive. Bill Galvin is the current acting chief executive.

Steve Webb, minister for pensions, said: “I would like to thank David Norgrove for his considerable contribution as chair since The Pensions Regulator was established.

“Under his leadership, the regulator has established itself as a vital player in the pensions landscape, protecting members’ benefits and ensuring schemes are well administered. I have every confidence Michael O’Higgins will take this work forward as we introduce automatic enrolment into workplace pensions.”

O’Higgins added: “Pensions issues affect everyone, young and old, and are rarely out of the news. I look forward to getting my teeth into the many challenges.

Sign up to our newsletters

Receive news and guidance on a range of HR issues direct to your inbox

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

“At the top of my in-tray will be helping employers get to grips with their new duties to auto-enrol staff from 2012, that all types of pension scheme are well run with members’ interests at the centre, and that risks to members and the Pension Protection Fund are properly managed.”

Read more articles on pensions appointments